To Top

Jefferson honors Pryme Tyme athletes

Rep. Chuck Jefferson

Rep. Chuck Jefferson

State Rep. Chuck Jefferson, D-Rockford, was the guest speaker at Pryme Tyme’s ceremony honoring their 2012 championship basketball team. Pryme Tyme is part of the Midwest’s AAU (Amateur Athletic Union), and is comprised of students from all Rockford area schools in addition to local home-schooled students. The team travels around the country to compete in tournaments.

“Pryme Tyme was founded by Anthony Cornell in 1992,” Jefferson explained. “The students who get involved are not just exceeding at the sport, but they are also achieving academic success. Since the program began, student-athletes involved in Pryme Tyme have an 84 percent record of going on to attend college.”

Awards were presented to the following Pryme Tyme athletes: Fred VanVleet, Captain, Witchita State; Marcus Posley, Co-Captain, Ball State; Lamark Foote, Co-Captain, Grambling; AJ Uhrig, Ashford; Quincy Canty, Southern Illinois University; Quentin Canty, Rock Valley College; David Hellstrom, West Point; Gerry Ford, College of DuPage; Teyvious Montgomery, College of DuPage; and Quavion Scott, Auburn High School.

“It is my pleasure to be able to draw attention to Rockford’s inspiring youth,” Jefferson said. “I would also like to thank the coaches and supportive adults who have been able to make their practices and games a possibility. I wish Pryme Tyme luck as they will surely grow in size and recognition.”


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Out About Involved